Sister States/Cities



Oklahoma enjoys sister state relationships with China’s Gansu Province, Japan’s Kyoto Prefecture, and Taiwan. Oklahoma Sister States involve community, schools, government, and organizational support to conduct cultural, educational, business, agricultural, medical, and other types of programs and exchanges to further these relationships.

Sister states are relationships created by official agreements between the State of Oklahoma and the government of the foreign state.

Oklahoma’s first sister state was Taiwan. In 1980, Oklahoma Governor George Nigh signed an agreement establishing sister state relations. The document states that “the two sister entities will promote interchanges in various areas with the object of deepening mutual understanding and goodwill.”

Governor Nigh also signed Oklahoma’s sister state agreement with China’s Gansu province in 1985. Since then, 20 delegations of Oklahomans going to China or vice versa have strengthened the relationship by building business and cultural ties. The same year, Oklahoma also established a sister state with the Prefecture of Kyoto in Japan.


Mayors of pairing cities may also sign official documents inaugurating a sister cities partnership. Sister relationships are the only international partnerships agreements that link local governments. The agreements establish an active relationship, which strives to improve the mutual understanding of diverse cultures. These sister programs have proven to be an invaluable tool for a multitude of reasons:

  • • Sister programs develop municipal partnerships between U.S. cities, counties, and states and similar jurisdictions in other nations.
  • • They provide opportunities for city officials and citizens to experience and explore other cultures through long-term community partnerships.
  • • The sister programs create an atmosphere in which economic and community development can be implemented and strengthened.
  • • Sister programs stimulate environments through which communities will creatively learn, work, and solve problems together through reciprocal cultural, educational, municipal, business, professional, and technical exchanges and projects.
  • • They collaborate with organizations in the United States and other countries which share similar goals.

Oklahoma’s Sister Cities include:
Claremore Muravlenko, Russia
Norman Clermont-Ferrand, France
Colima, Mexico
Seika, Japan
Arezzo, Italy
Oklahoma City Haikou City, China
Kigali City, Rwanda
Puebla, Mexico
Ulyanovsk, Russia
Taipei, Taiwan
Tainan City, Taiwan
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Ponca City Baiyin, China
Shawnee Nikaho, Japan
Jinchang, China
Stillwater Kameoka, Japan
Tulsa Beihai, China
Celle, Germany
Kaohsiung Municipality, Taiwan
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Tiberias, Israel
Utsunomiya, Japan
Zelenograd, Russia
Amiens, France
Yukon Krnov, Czech Republic