
5.  For attestation of a copy of a document: 
 
State of  
County of 
 
 I certify that this is a true and correct copy of 
a document in the possession of  
 
Dated 
 

_____________                                                     
     (Signature of notarial officer) 
 
(Seal, if any) 
 

_____________                                                              
      Title (and Rank) 

 
(My commission expires:   ) 
(My commission #     ) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This Publication is issued by the Notary Department as 
authorized by the Secretary of State. Copies have not 
been printed but are available through the agency 
website. 
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 SECRETARY OF STATE 
 421 NW 13TH STREET, SUITE 210 
 OKLAHOMA CITY, OK  73103 
 
Website Address: 
 www.sos.ok.gov 
 
For Questions or Information: 
 (405) 521-2516 
   or 
 notary@sos.ok.gov 
 
To request applications: 
 (405) 521-3912 
 
 
 

 

FUNCTION 
 
A notary public acts as an official witness to the 
identity of a person who comes before the notary.  A 
notary is authorized to witness or attest a signature, 
administer an oath or affirmation, certify an oath or 
affirmation, take acknowledgments, and certify or 
attest a copy.  The notary must be certain of the 
identity of the person requesting the service. 
 

QUALIFICATIONS 
 
Under Oklahoma law, a notary public is appointed 
and commissioned by the Secretary of State. In order 
to be commissioned as a notary, an individual must: 
 
1. be a legal resident of Oklahoma, or an out-of-

state resident who is employed within Oklahoma; 
2. be 18 years of age or older; 
3. have not been convicted of a felony; and 
4. be able to read and write in English. 
 

TERM 
 
The Oklahoma Secretary of State shall appoint and 
commission notaries public, who shall hold their office 
for four (4) years. 
 

NEW COMMISSION 
 
The application form can be obtained from the Office 
of the Secretary of State and through our website.  
The completed application with the $25.00 filing fee 
may be filed with the Secretary of State in person, by 
mail or via our website. A black & white notary 
commission will be mailed to the applicant upon 
approval and processing of the application. 
 

RENEWAL COMMISSION 
 
A notary public may renew his/her appointment by 
submitting a completed application and a $20.00 
renewal fee to the Secretary of State.  A renewal 
application will not be accepted earlier than six (6) 
weeks prior to the expiration of the notary’s current 
appointment, or after the expiration date.  A renewal 
commission will be mailed to the applicant upon 
approval and processing of the renewal application. 
 

EXPIRED COMMISSION 
 
An application that is received after a notary public 
commission has expired must be processed as a new 
appointment. A new commission number and date 
will be issued. 
 
 

BOND REQUIREMENT 
 
Before a person can act as a notary and no more 
than sixty (60) days after the issuance of his/her 
commission, he/she must file a $1,000.00 surety 
bond, an oath of office, loyalty oath and a $10.00 
filing fee with the Office of the Secretary of State. The 
bond must be issued for a term that commences on 
the bond's effective date and terminates on the 
commission's expiration date. The notarial bond may 
be purchased from an insurance agency or bonding 
company. The notary may instead choose to have the 
bond signed by one or more sureties who are 
property owners in the notary’s county of residence, 
or in the case of a non-resident, the county of 
employment. The bond must be approved by the 
Secretary of State.  Blank bond forms are available 
on the Secretary of State's website at 
www.sos.ok.gov/notary. 
 

AUTHORITY OF A NOTARY 
 
An Oklahoma notary public may perform notarial acts 
anywhere in the state of Oklahoma even though 
the appointment is for the county of residence or, in 
the case of a non-resident employed in Oklahoma, 
the county of employment.  Whenever a document is 
notarized, the notary must indicate on the document 
the county in which the notarization is taking place.  A 
notary may not notarize his/her own signature. 
 

NOTARY LOG 
 
State law does not require a notary to keep records of 
their official acts.  However, it is recommended that a 
notary maintain a log of his/her official acts to assist 
in recalling past notarial acts, if needed, or if legally 
challenged.  If a notary is called upon to testify in 
court, a log may become evidence to help establish 
what actually took place.  Information to be retained 
in the notary log should include the following: 
 
 1. Date of notarial act; 
 2. Type of notarial act performed; 
 3. A description of the document; 
 4. The signature and printed name and address 

of each person for whom a notarial act was 
performed; 

 5. A description of the form of identification 
provided (i.e. driver’s license or photo 
identification) or a statement that the person 
was “personally known” to the notary; 

 6. The location where the notarization was 
performed; 

 7.  The amount of fee charged, if any; and 
 8.  Personal notes. 



 
 

FEES 
 
The maximum fee a notary may charge and collect 
for each notarial act is five dollars ($5.00). A notary 
may not charge a fee to notarize an absentee ballot. 

 
SEAL 

 
Oklahoma law allows for the use of either a metal 
seal, which leaves an embossed impression, or a 
rubber stamp.  All notary seals shall contain the name 
of the notary public and the words “State of 
Oklahoma” and “Notary Public.”  The expiration date 
and commission number may be part of the stamp or 
seal. A notary public may purchase the embosser 
seal or rubber stamp from any office supply store or 
stamp and seal company. 
 
The Office of the Secretary of State does not 
endorse any company that may solicit an 
individual for notary supplies.  Likewise, the 
Office of the Secretary of State is not affiliated 
with any of these companies. 
 
Within ten (10) days after the loss of the seal, the 
notary shall deliver to the Secretary of State a written 
notice of the loss or theft and the date the seal was 
first discovered missing.  In addition, the notary 
should notify the appropriate law enforcement agency 
in the case of theft.   
 
When purchasing a replacement seal, it is advisable 
to have a character or symbol added to the seal to 
distinguish it from the missing one.  Within ten (10) 
days after purchasing a new seal, notify the Secretary 
of State in writing of the date of purchase and the 
distinguishing character or symbol added. 
 

CHANGE OF NAME 
 
If a notary’s name has legally changed, he/she may 
continue to use their former name as issued on the 
existing commission until it expires. If a notary wishes 
to use a new name, a letter of resignation must be 
submitted to the Secretary of State together with a 
completed application for a new commission and a 
$25.00 filing fee. This name change will establish a 
new commission number and expiration date.  It will 
be necessary for the individual to purchase a new 
seal and file a new surety bond. 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS 
 
If the notary’s resident address changes, he/she must 
inform the Secretary of State in writing within thirty 
(30) days of such change.  It will not be necessary for 
the individual to purchase a new seal or file a new  
application and bond. There is no filing fee to change 
an address. 
 

RESIGNATION OR DEATH 
 
A notary who resigns his/her notarial commission 
shall deliver to the Secretary of State a notice of 
resignation and the effective date of such resignation. 
 
A notary who ceases to reside or work in Oklahoma 
must resign their commission. 
 
If a notary dies during the term of commission, the 
notary’s heirs or personal representative, as soon as 
reasonably practicable, shall deliver a signed notice 
of the date of death to the Secretary of State. 
 
The notary seal should be destroyed upon resignation 
or death. 
 

AUTHENTICATION OF DOCUMENTS 
 
A notary public must authenticate all of their official 
acts, attestations and instruments with their notary 
seal, official signature, commission number and the 
expiration date of their notary public commission.  If 
any notary public shall neglect or refuse to comply 
with this requirement they shall be deemed guilty of a 
misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof shall be 
fined a sum not to exceed Fifty Dollars ($50.00). 
 

SHORT FORM CERTIFICATES 
OF NOTARIAL ACTS 

 
An “acknowledgment” means a declaration by a 
person that the individual has signed an instrument 
for the purposes stated therein and, if signing in a 
representative capacity, has authority to sign the 
instrument on behalf of the person or entity identified 
therein. 
 
In taking an acknowledgment, verification, or 
witnessing or attesting a signature, a notary must 
determine, either from personal knowledge or from 
satisfactory identification documents that the person 
appearing before the notary is in fact the person 
whose true signature is on the instrument. 

 
 
 
In certifying or attesting a copy of a document or 
other item, a notary must determine that the copy is a 
full, true and accurate transcription or reproduction of 
the original. 
 
 
The following are examples of acknowledgments. 
 
 
1.  For an acknowledgment in an individual 

capacity: 
   
State of    
County of   
  
 This instrument was acknowledged before me on 
(date) by (name(s) of person(s)). 

 
______________                                             

     (Signature of notarial officer) 
 

(Seal, if any) 
 

_____________                                                      
       Title (and Rank) 

 
(My commission expires:   ) 
(My commission #    ) 
 
 
 
 
2. For an acknowledgment in a representative 
capacity: 
 
State of   
County of   
 
 This instrument was acknowledged before me on 
(date) by (name(s) of person(s)) as (type of authority, 
e.g., officer, trustee, etc.) of (name of party on behalf 
of whom instrument was executed). 
 

______________                                                   
     (Signature of notarial officer) 
 
(Seal, if any) 
 

_____________                                                      
       Title (and Rank) 

 
(My commission expires:   ) 
(My commission #    ) 

 
 
 
 
3. For verification upon oath or affirmation: 
 
State of   
County of   
 
 Signed and sworn to (or affirmed) before me on 
(date) by name(s) of person(s) making statement). 
 

_______________                                     
     (Signature of notarial officer) 
 
(Seal, if any) 
 

____________                                        
       Title (and Rank) 

 
(My commission expires:   ) 
(My commission #    ) 
 
 
 
 
4. For witnessing or attesting a signature: 
 
State of   
County of   
 
 Signed or attested before me on (date) by 
(name(s) of (person(s)). 
 

    _____________                                     
     (Signature of notarial officer) 

 
(Seal, if any) 
 

____________                                        
       Title (and Rank) 
 
(My commission expires:   ) 
(My commission #    ) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


